Sep 29 2017

Council Opening Draws 12 Candidates Seeking Appointment

The recent resignation of former City Council member Jeff Wieler vacancy is to be filled by a Council appointment.  

To familiarize themselves with the 12 candidates noted below, the Council will conduct required interviews starting at 2:00 p.m., Monday, October 2, 2017 in the Emergency Operations Center of the Piedmont Police Department at 403 Highland Avenue. The agenda states that following the interviews, the Council may act to appoint the new Councilmember at the same meeting. 

In the past, the interviews have not been recorded or broadcast, ostensibly to give no candidate an advantage in hearing prior candidate’s questions or answers.

Council interviews, discussions, and any actions are open to all members of the public.

 Piedmont volunteerism is a traditional route to the Council.

Many of the applicants have served one or more times on city commissions or committees.  City Council members are not compensated monetarily for their service.  The  appointee will be eligible to seek election to a full term at the November 2018 General Election, as the seat will become open.

The candidates are:

Betsy Smegal Andersen

Shanti Brien

Brian Cain

John DeSerio

Kobi Eshun

Nancy Lehrkind

Johnathan Levine

Conna McCarthy

Gary Rinehart

Gina Scialabba

Susy Struble

Jamie Totsub

Information and comments on the various candidates can be submitted to the City Council members.

Council contact information:

Robert McBain, Mayor (510) 547-0597 2nd Term Exp. 11/20
Teddy Gray King, Vice Mayor (510) 450-0890 1st Term Exp. 11/18
Jennifer Cavenaugh (510) 428-1442 1st Term Exp. 11/20
Tim Rood (510) 239-7663 1st Term Exp. 11/18


All information submitted to the Council by the applicants is public information.

For further information, contact City Clerk John Tulloch at (510)420-3040.

Leave a Comment